Brief Details About Regional Power System...

  • Southern regional grid is an electrical system comprising of 6,51,000 Sq. km of area with 5 States namely Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Kerala, Tamilnadu, Telangana and Union Territory of Pondicherry, Generating Stations at Central and State Sector, Independent Power producing stations, State DISCOMS and STUs etc.
  • The Southern region has an installed capacity of 108570 MW as on 31/03/2020.
  • The States are inter connected with each other through 765/400/220 kV network.
  • Southern Region is connected to Western region through HVDC Back-to-back (2x500 MW) link at Bhadrawathi in WR and to Eastern regions through HVDC back-to-back link (2x500 MW) at Gazuwaka in SR and ±500 kV Bipolar HVDC link (2x1000 MW) from Talcher in ER to Kolar in SR as well as 765 kV 2 x Single Circuit Sholapur-Raichur, 765 kV 2 x Single Circuit Wardha-Nizamabad, 765 kV 2 x Single Circuit Angul-Sriklakulam,400 kV 2 x Single Circuit  Kudgi-Kolhapur Interconnector to facilitate exchange of power from surplus to deficit region / State as well as wheeling of power

During the year 2019-20 the Southern Region has witnessed a maximum consumption of energy of 1,157 MUs on 18th March 2020 (2 % rise compared to 2018-19) and the maximum peak demand of 53,465 MW on 18th March 2020 (7 % rise compared to 2018- 19) as against the respective maximum values 1129 MU and 50153 MW met last year. In respect of daily average energy, the increase is from 935 MU/day to 945 MU/day

Southern Region has met a maximum demand of 53,465 MW on 18th March 2020